Home > PostgreSQL > Looking for libpq.so.4

Looking for libpq.so.4

I had always been building Slony from source, but for the first time I tried using the community version from “pgrpms.org”. I was using PostgreSQL version 8.3 so it was really easy to find the correct rpms at http://www.pgrpms.org/8.3/redhat/rhel-5-x86_64/ but as I tried installing Slony package I was hit with an error:

"libpq.so.4 not found"

This looked really weird to me as I already had the libpq library installed as libpq.so.5 but it was still looking for libpq.so.4.

Looking for a solution I started going through the 8.3 RPMs and tried looking for file libpq.so.4 file…. bingooo!!! I found one which had it. compat-postgresql-libs was the answer to this problem.

After installing that package, Slony got installed successfully without any problems.

Shoaib Mir
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: PostgreSQL Tags: , ,
  1. gregj
    October 13, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    nothing that ln -s could not fix ;)

  2. October 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    That was the first thing I suggested to the customer and that didn’t really work for them so had to come up with installing this compat libs package.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

