Home > PostgreSQL > Compiling Slony on Opensolaris

Compiling Slony on Opensolaris

A few days back I was trying to compile Slony on Opensolaris and it was giving an error:

“can not find slonik.h”

After a little bit of searching here and there it nailed down to be a compiler specific problem.

I was using CC like this:

./configure CC=/opt/SUNWspro/bin/cc

but as soon as I moved to ‘gcc’ everything was good.

Hope that might help someone who gets stuck at this!

Shoaib Mir
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: PostgreSQL Tags: ,
  1. January 8, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Odd. Sun Studio works for us just fine. Both 32bit and 64bit.

  2. January 8, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Or it might be I am missing something with my Solaris Sun Studio installation? as I am a newbie at Solaris 🙂

  3. July 11, 2009 at 4:48 am

    Interestingly, when we run the same build script on SXCE (build 113) instead of Solaris 10 (I’m using the same script as Theo did), we get the same error as you do. Setting CFLAGS to “../../src/slonik” causes things to work, but I have no idea why. I suspect it is a difference between the installed tools on both of our build systems unrelated to sun studio itself (perhaps lex/yacc or some variant).

    • July 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

      I was using the standard Opensolaris Developer edition with everything packaged, I guess that might give you an idea.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

