Home > PostgreSQL > pg_config and Slony

pg_config and Slony

A few weeks back when I was at a client site, got an error while installing Slony which was reported as:

“pg_config binary not found”

I never had seen this problem before during Slony installation because most of the time when I built Slony on my laptop I had the PostgreSQL installation through source and the whole debug and developer environment was setup, but in that specific case PostgreSQL was installed through a Redhat RPM that was missing developer binaries.

After a little bit of RPM search I found out that it was just the “postgresql-devel-8.3.5-1PGDG.rhel5.i386.rpm” (ver 8.3.5 on RHEL5 for 32bit) rpm not installed and I was all set to get with Slony installation after that.

-Shoaib
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: PostgreSQL Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

