Home > Operating Systems > nm-applet problems in Ubuntu

nm-applet problems in Ubuntu

Since I upgraded to Ubuntu 8.1 (Intrepid) I started having problems with my nm-applet not showing up in the panel, but I couldnt get time to fix it for a while.

While today I looked at solving it, saw the following problem on starting nm-applet as:

“No connections added”

After doing a few things here and there found that just editing the file /etc/network/interfaces was the solution. A simple fix to that can be remove everything from  /etc/network/ interfaces file except “lo” entries. My original file looked like:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp
auto eth0

Commenting out “eth0” lines and restarting nm-applet fixed the problem for me.

Shoaib Mir
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: Operating Systems Tags: ,
  1. Tux2
    October 8, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Hi,
    I just had this problem when I installed Ubuntu 10.04 via PXE boot. The instructions still work! Thanks for this quick solution.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

