Home > General > Bought a new point-and-shoot camera

Bought a new point-and-shoot camera

Its been quite a while that I have been using my old Sanyo point-and-shoot camera and now since my last trip to Blue Mountains it was quite evident that it lacks a lot of features (especially zoom) which the current new ones got. So I decided on finding a new one…

While making the decision few things I was considering were:

– Ease of Use
– Good Zoom feature
– Quality of photos at night
– Size
– Price Range

First thing I looked at were SLR cameras, they are just amazing with picture quality but not good for me when keeping in mind the price and size. The other important point was ease of use as most of the times its my wife using it so she wanted something that is really easy to use for which SLR cameras were not good for the case.

After doing some search this weekend, we ended up having good deal on a Lumix camera (DMC-TZ11) from a Harvey Norman shop near our place. It met most of our requirements…

– Very easy to use with its intelligent mode
– Zoom up to 10x which caters for most my zoom demands
– Photo quality has just been amazing till now, will upload some of the pictures as we plan our next trip
– Not big in size, just like an ordinary point-and-shoot camera
– Came with a very affordable price tag of AUD $400 (US $257)

Lumix DMC-TZ11

Lumix DMC-TZ11

Just a little about other features…

ISO Speeds : 800, 800, 1600, 1600, 400, 400, 200, 200, 100, 100, Auto, Auto
Digital Zoom : 4x
Optical Zoom : 10x
Camera Resolution : 8.1 Megapixels

Cant wait for the next weekend to really test it out 😛


Shoaib Mir
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: General Tags: , ,
  1. September 27, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Good read & congratulations on the purchase.
    Last year I sold my DSLR and got myself a Canon G11 (a point & shoot) and never looked back.
    I bring the lil beast with me everywhere and its even inspired a photo blog.
    Its true, the best photos are the ones where you bring your camera!
    If you wish to follow my adventures or simply browse some point and shoot pics, hop on over to:
    http://skunksblog.wordpress.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

