Home > Operating Systems > Windows 7 – My experience

Windows 7 – My experience

I finally got the time to get it working in a VM and this is what I saw of it…

– On the performance side, yes it looks much much better then Vista but nothing like XP

– Good drivers compatibility as I didnt find any problems with any of the devices

– It has the most ugliest taskbar that you can think of, for the way it handles the multiple open windows and seriously it really was the most annoying part for me or I guess I am much more used to Ubuntu and one can never expect anything innovative or creative from M$.

– I couldn’t find Quicklaunch option, it would be good if some M$ techie could give a way around that?

Spending just like 30 minutes, I thought of just sticking to the old XP installation that I have for home use and stay away from the new version which only I would say a little behaved twin of Vista.


Shoaib Mir
shoaibmir[@]gmail.com

Categories: Operating Systems Tags: ,
    • May 12, 2009 at 8:11 pm

      I was just looking at some reviews on techradar a few days back and found out that Windows 7 RC is actually better in performance to both Vista and XP (on same hardware)

      P.S. have not tried it myself yet.

      • May 12, 2009 at 8:12 pm

        Got it right in the second reply 😛 … HTML :S 😀 …

    • May 12, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      It might be better in performance then XP or Vista but its very annoying when compared to usability to XP… I haven’t really benchmarked it against XP but its just on the VM I found it slower then XP and Vista both 🙂

  1. November 4, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    sometimes windows7 won’t install if you install it on a pc with a previous installation of windows XP ‘

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

